Re-roofing advice needed

Marc Albertson
7/22/2012
Hello, I am replacing a metal roof (5v) on a workshop on a new piece of property we just purchased. This is my first time attempting a roofing job, so I have read as much as I can find and think I can do a good job. The existing roof is probably 30 years old. It was put up without a substrate, attached directly to the joist and purlins. The roof is a flat roof with a shallow 2.5:12 pitch, so installation will be relatively easy. The roof is 15' x 30'. My plan is to remove the existing roof and build a substrate in order to provide better protection and enable me to walk safely on the roof. I am building the substrate from 7/16" OSB and then covering the OSB with #30 roofing felt to provide a water barrier. I have purchased weather striping to seal the overlaps in the 5v. The installation seems pretty straight forward made even easier as I found a local company that is able to sell me the 5v cut to my specification, so I can use a single sheet for the 15' length. The only things that I need advice on are: 1) Should I attach the 5v directly to the felt covered OSB or should I run 1x4's every 24" to provide a means of ventilation? I have read so much conflicting advice on this. Most manufacturers websites I have gone to show the 5v installed directly to the substrate. It would be easier and cost less this way, but if the 1x4's are necessary, then I need to head back to the lumber yard soon. 2: I live in Florida and we are getting rain almost everyday. I can no longer wait out for a dry spell and need to proceed. I can get the substrate and felt completed in a single day, however it might take me 3 or 4 days to complete the installation of the 5v. If it rains prior to the 5v being installed will the felt paper be enough to protect the substrate or do I need to cover the roof everyday with plastic? If the felt alone is enough, do I have to wait until it is completely dry prior to installing the 5v? 3) The top of the roof