low slope question

Guest User
5/18/2012
Hi. I'm an architect developing specifications for a 2-story 3,200 SF residence in Los Angeles. The house will be LEED Gold, and I've narrowed the spec down to a 2" mechanically-seamed metal roof by a local manufacturer. The design includes a series of shed roof sections with the longest length being 36 feet. Currently the slope is modeled at 5/8" per 12", a hair steeper than the manufacturer's minimum warrantied slope of 1/2" per 12" (the design will include an ice/snow shield underlayment). The roofing company rep told me that although they warranty 1/2" per 12" roofs, my 5/8" per 12" roof could still potentially pose water leakage problems and he recommended a minimum 1" per 12" design. For better or worse, I'm unable to alter the roof slope to that degree, as it would adversely affect the height and aesthetics of the project. However I might be able to get away with changing the minimum slope to 3/4" in 12." My question is, is it worth it for me to alter the slope by 1/8" per 12"? Or should I just concentrate on making sure that my contractor is very careful in achieving the 5/8" per 12" slope? As an aside, I was surprised that the rep thought a 5/8" per 12" slope would look "flat." In my drawings and model the slope looks gradual but certainly perceptible, esp. over its 30-foot-plus runs. I'd be curious to hear your opinions on that too. Thank you in advance for your feedback. Best, Amelia
Todd Miller
Isaiah Industries, Inc.
5/18/2012