Overwhelmed by price differences

Julie Burkett
4/4/2012
Greetings, I've been shopping for a metal roof for about 6 months now. I am completely overwhelmed with the differences in product and pricing. I've about convinced myself that a Galvalume Kyner 500 is the product for me (I never want to replace this roof and I plan to add on to the house within 10 years and want best chance at a color match). I have quotes of 9300, 15500 and 19800 all from reputable companies. This is 1340 ft of roofing with a simple roof line (i.e. think ranch 50 x 24 or so ranch including the full length front porch and adding a 15 x 30 covered deck that they are refurring (sp?). All products are Galvalume with Kynar 500. Any ideas what the cost *should* be? * What is a better product for the money and what *should* it cost a simple 1340 ft roofing project? * What is a best product and what *should* it cost for a simple 1340 ft roofing project? Are there any questions I should be asking to determine why the cost is so high for two of the estimates (or low for the other)? Thank you! Julie
Todd Miller
Isaiah Industries, Inc.
4/4/2012
Julie, If you want to send me copies of the quotes, I will try to help you sort through the differences. It would be best to email them to me at [email protected]
Eric Novotny
An informed customer is the Best Customer!
4/5/2012
Depending on base materials, consumables, and installation differences, the prices can vary quite substantially. At the end of the day, a metal roof should be the last roof you put on your home. That being said, make sure you get the right product and installation for your home. A roof is not a time to cheap out.
Julie Burkett
4/6/2012
Thanks, that's what I was thinking: I'm going to reply to the above message and would appreciate comments.
Julie Burkett
4/6/2012