Have questions? Ask the experts.

Ask-The-Experts forum

Below is a forum for exchanging information concerning residential metal roofing, including general material and metal roofing installation questions. Should you have questions or concerns that deal with specific branded metal roof products please contact the manufacturer directly.

Ask-The-Experts > Other

Best Ridge vent for my roof
I am installing a 22ga standing seam metal roof on my home. I plan on adding a ridge vent. I am turning the metal end to the ridge line up in order to stop any driving water issues. I am just wondering what your suggestion for what type of vent should i use? Cora-vent, Versa-vent, or any suggestion would be nice. I made up an homemade type but i am not very trusting of it sense i am not a professional. I am also removing the gable vent and as for the soffit i am removing the old ply-wood sheet and replacing the complete soffit with screen and then vinyl soffit panels so it should breathe enuff. The main part of my home is 1000 sq feet and i figured 30 feet of ridge would be plenty. Please advise and thank you.
Does your standing seam manufacturer have a prescribed ridge vent detail? They really should.
Yes. It consists of dura-vent. The Z bar is to be placed then the dura-vent on top then the ridge cap to be screwed through them. I was just reading where others have had water leak issues. I am doing the work myself and the owner is completely against the sponge type vent material because he says it will clog up and not allow the ridge to breathe.
cor a vent has a pretty good detail for this that I have seen used successfully. If the roof has a very low pitch that adds extra complexity. Also, have you looked at the product named ProfileVent?
I did check this product but they do not mention anything on a Firestone 2 inch standing seam 18 inch panel. If there is any other product you can come up with i do thank you for your expert opinion.